World Touring Car Cup

Double WTCR title delight

Mikel Azcona and BRC Racing Team crowned winners

Mikel Azcona and BRC Racing Team crowned winners

Our Elantra N TCR customer team BRC Racing Team are celebrating its first-ever double title winning campaign in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup at the season finale Race of Saudi Arabia.

Mikel was confirmed the 2022 drivers’ title winner, while BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse also clinched its inaugural teams crown under the floodlights during qualifying after building a big enough point margin to the closest competitor.

The result marks the fourth and fifth titles for our customers in the series and underscores the competitiveness of the Elantra N TCR at the highest levels of international TCR racing.

“It feels like a dream to say I am the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup winner,” says an excited Mikel. “I can’t thank BRC and Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing enough for their hard work and support. Without them, this title would not have been possible.”

Early Celebrations
Mikel arrived at Race of Saudi Arabia knowing he only had to score six points and was able to get up to speed straight away during free practice. After progressing into the top-five shootout he set the third fastest lap and extended his lead to 68 points, confirming his victory.

The Spaniard set out his title-winning intentions early, with victory at the opening round of the season, a position he went on to take another four times.

By clinching the WTCR title, Mikel follows in the footsteps of team-mate Norbert, who took the drivers’ crown in 2019, and Team Manager Gabriele, the 2018 winner. He also becomes the first Spaniard to be crowned King of WTCR.

Strongest season
BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse enjoyed one of its strongest campaigns in the series and led the standings from the fourth round, Race of Spain. The team continued to extract the full potential of the Elantra N TCR, also closing its own title battle early.

In total, the team accumulated two pole positions, five fastest laps, seven podium visits and five wins before its victory in the standings.

Our President Sean Kim said, “Achieving both the drivers’ and teams’ title completes an excellent year, it is the perfect reward for all those who have worked on the project. This is an indication of the talent of our drivers and customers teams, as well as everyone involved with the project in our Customer Racing department.”

“It is such a proud moment to have another Hyundai Motorsport customer win in WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup,” added Julien, Deputy Team Director. “Both achievements are a testament of the hard work that the team and our customer racing department have put into the season.”

2022 FIA World Touring Car Cup for Teams
After Round 9 Qualifying
1. BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse 488
2. ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport 372
6. Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 211
7. Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 211
8. Liqui Moly Team Engstler 134

2022 FIA World Touring Car Cup for Drivers
After Round 9 Qualifying

1. Mikel Azcona 305
2. Nestor Girolami 237
3. Nathanael Berthon 210
4. Robert Huff 187
5. Norbert Michelisz 183
6. Gilles Magnus 171
7. Santiago Urrutia 137
8. Esteban Guerrieri 135
9. Yann Ehrlacher 133
10. Mehdi Bennani 112
11. Qinghua Ma 97
12. Tom Coronel 85
13. Attila Tassi 78
14. Yvan Muller 78
15. Tiago Monteiro 56
16. Daniel Nagy 52
17. Thed Björk 35
18. Bence Boldizs 12
19. Franco Girolami 0


Recent WTCR News

Latest Video

You might also be interested in

TCR Sales


The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.


Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now