Rally Australia

16 – 19 November 2017


Coffs Harbour


Time Zone

UTC +11.











2016 Results

3. Thierry & Nicolas / 4. Hayden & John / 5. Dani & Marc




Rally Australia

The first edition of Rally Australia came in 1988, as part of the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship and just a year later, the event made its debut on the WRC calendar. Until the year 2006, Perth served as its host city in the West of the country. After a brief stint in New South Wales from 2009, the event came to its current location of Coffs Harbour in 2011. The rally is highly regarded by fans and crews alike, a fact that is supported by it being crowned FIA Rally of the Year on three separate occasions: 1995, 1999 and 2000.

McKlein Rally Tips

Have you ever wondered where are the best locations to watch live WRC action on site? Wanted to know where you can rest, refuel and relax in between the action-packed stages? Perhaps you just want to find out where you can get the most impressive photos for your Instagram feed? We have all the answers you need in our special feature, written for you by experienced photographic agency McKlein.

McKlein Rally Tips will be published well in advance of each rally, offering a unique, first-hand look at each round of the WRC. From special areas to go, places to eat and drink, and where to stay, this latest feature will be your essential guide to the WRC weekend.

To ensure that you don’t miss out on the latest information, McKlein Rally Tips will be updated after rally recce.

Since 1997, McKlein Photography has built up an enviable reputation for high quality, original photography that shows the diversity and global impact of rally sport, as well as the dynamic skills of the world’s greatest drivers.

Their story goes back even further than that. McKlein’s senior partner, Reinhard Klein, began photographing world rallies in the 1970s, while his business partner Colin McMaster (the ‘Mc’ in McKlein) experienced the world of Formula 1 before venturing into WRC.

Beyond their huge archive of photography, they have a wealth of experience and knowledge of the events that comprise today’s WRC schedule. Now you can join them on a journey through world rally’s eclectic mix of stages.

Fast Facts

  • Rally Australia represents the longest journey of the season for the team. Coffs Harbour is 16,298 km from Alzenau in a direct line.
  • The 2016 itinerary had 23 special stages, the second highest number of any rally on the calendar, just one short of Finland.
  • Despite the large number of stages, the combined stage distance in 2016 was actually one of the lowest of the year at 312.98km.


3 Days
0 Hours
55 Minutes
52 Seconds
First car out for shakedown (UTC)


  • The rally includes a stage through the town of Coffs Harbour and a stage around a local racetrack.
  • The 50km Nambucca stage, one of the longest of the season, is a firm driver favourite with numerous surface changes, beautiful scenery and a fast, flowing nature.
  • The centre of Australia’s banana industry, you can’t escape the site of the Coffs Harbour Big Banana – the area’s biggest tourist attraction.



Leg One: THU 16 / FRI 17 November
Leg Two: SAT 18 November
Leg Three: SUN 19 November

Getting there

  • Coffs Harbour Airport (CFS) – 4 km
  • Gold Coast Airport (OOL) – 298 km
  • Newcastle Airport (NTL) – 365 km
  • Brisbane Airport (BNE) – 400 km
  • Coffs Harbour – 6 km
  • Coffs Harbour Coach Terminal – 5 km
Service Park Coffs Harbour, Stadium Drive, Coffs Harbour, NSW 2450 (Australia), 30°19’25.1”S 153°05.36.6”E
Distances to Service Park



Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P3)

Hayden Paddon / John Kennard (P4)

Dani Sordo / Marc Martí (P5)


Hayden Paddon / John Kennard (P5)

Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P7)

Dani Sordo / Marc Martí (P8)


Hayden Paddon / John Kennard (P6)

Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P7)

Chris Atkinson / Stéphane Prevot (P10)