Rally de Portugal

17 – 20 May 2018




Time Zone

UTC +1



19 (349,17km)








2017 Results

2. Thierry & Nicolas / 3. Dani & Marc / Hayden & Seb (retirement)




Rally de Portugal

First run in 1967, Rally de Portugal was a regular feature on the WRC calendar from its inaugural season in 1973 until 2002, as a mixed surface event. Following its permanent return to the championship in 2009 however, the event switched to an all-gravel test. Having previously been held all over the country, in locations such as the Algarve and Baixo Alentejo, 2015 saw the rally make a return to its spiritual home in the North, where the majority of its earlier editions had been run.

Fast Facts

  • Rally de Portugal attracts the highest number of spectators for any European rally, with fans often packing out the spectator areas and travelling deep into the forest
  • Over the years the rally has earned an esteemed reputation, being named ‘Best Rally in the World’ on five separate occasions.
  • For our team, it holds special memories as the scene of our first ever stage wins back in 2014, and our first time leading a WRC event.


116 Days
23 Hours
27 Minutes
49 Seconds
First car out for shakedown (UTC)


  • The famous Fafe jump is one of the most spectacular sights of the event, with fans lining the route alongside 19 wind turbines
  • Known as the birthplace of the Portuguese nation, the historic Guimarães Castle provides an awe-inspiring backdrop to the start of the rally.
  • 2017’s event will once again be hosted at the Matosinhos Service Park, north of Porto, marking the 50th anniversary of Rally de Portugal.



Leg One: THU 18 / FRI 19 May
Leg Two: SAT 20 May
Leg Three: SUN 21 May

Getting there

  • Francisco Sá Carneiro Airport (OPO) – 9km
  • Lisbon Humberto Delgado Airport (LIS) – 314km
  • Porto-Campanhã – 14km
  • Porto (Rua de Alexandre Herculano 366) – 13km
Avenida Doutor António Macedo, Leça da Palmeira (Portugal), 41°11’54.1”N 8°41’30.5”W
Distances to Service Park



Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P2)

Dani Sordo / Marc Martí (P3)

Hayden Paddon / Seb Marshall (Retirement)


Dani Sordo / Marc Martí (P4)

Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P29)

Hayden Paddon / John Kennard (Retirement)

Kevin Abbring / Seb Marshall (Retirement)


Dani Sordo / Marc Martí (P6)

Hayden Paddon / John Kennard (P8)

Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P39)


Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (P7)

Juho Hänninen / Tomi Tuominen (P8)