World Rally Championship

1-2-3 lockout in Acropolis Rally

Thierry/Martijn lead Ott/Martin and Dani/Cándido for historic result

Thierry/Martijn lead Ott/Martin and Dani/Cándido for historic result

For the first time in our history, we have claimed a WRC podium clean sweep after a dominant performance in the Acropolis Rally. Thierry and Martijn led a 1-2-3 finish on the final day of action, with Ott/Martin and Dani/Cándido taking second and third respectively.

“This is a special victory and an historic result,” said Thierry. “I think the most important aspect is the 1-2-3 for the team, a result we entirely deserve after all the efforts from everyone. We can take immense pride in this achievement.”

Three in a row

All three of our crews scored stage wins over the weekend underscoring the pace and performance of our i20 N Rally1 car. On tough gravel stages, reliability was just as important as outright competitiveness.

Ott and Martin confirmed their sixth podium of the season with a fine run to second, following back-to-back wins in Finland and Belgium. The pair completed the rally with maximum points in the Power Stage.

“A quite incredible result,” said Ott. “It has been a very demanding rally, especially on the technical side, so the team has done a good job to keep all the cars running. The car is definitely working better. There are still some things where I can see some performance is coming. For now, we need to enjoy this 1-2-3 result.”

Easy as 1-2-3

In their first rally since Sardinia, Dani and Cándido were immediately back on form. Heading into the final day in third place, our Spaniards took a measured approach to the final stages to cement their podium finish. They have finished on the podium in their last five WRC outings!

“I am really happy with my podium and for our 1-2-3 result,” said Dani. “Everyone in this team deserves it, they have worked so hard these days. Many drivers had some issues this weekend but, in the end, we were there with all three cars and came away with a really fantastic team result.”

The impressive result marks our third consecutive WRC victory with the i20 N Rally1 car after Finland and Belgium.

Teamwork makes the dream work

“What an historical moment for our team and Hyundai, the first time ever that we have scored a triple podium,” said our Deputy Team Director Julien. “Thank you to all the people supporting us, and above all to those in our factory. Reliability has proven again to be one of the keys; our car has improved a lot on this side since Monte-Carlo. We will definitely enjoy this one.”

Our President Sean Kim added: “This is a very special day for everyone at Hyundai Motorsport, and indeed the global Hyundai family, as we celebrate our first-ever 1-2-3 result in a WRC event. A fantastic team effort, realised by our three incredible crews. To see our Hyundai i20 N Rally1 take three wins in a row – in very different rallies – is reward for tremendous hard work by our team on-site and at the factory. We share this result together as a team.”

WRC now travels across the world for round 11, Rally New Zealand, which will take place from September 29-October 2.

Final Overall Classification – Acropolis Rally

1 T. Neuville / M. Wydaeghe (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) 3:34:52.0
2 O. Tänak / . Järveoja (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) +15.0
3 D. Sordo / C. Carrera (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) +1:49.7

4 P. L. Loubet / V. Landais (Ford Puma Rally1) +3:42.2
5 C. Breen / P. Nagle (Ford Puma Rally1) +4:09.0
6 T. Katsuta / A. Johnston (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) +6:21.1
7 E. Lindholm / R. Hämäläinen (Škoda Fabia Evo) +7:46.6
8 N. Gryazin / K. Aleksandrov (Škoda Fabia Evo) +8:22.7
9 A. Tsouloftas / R. Whittock (Volkswagen Polo GTI) +10:53.8
10 E. Brynildsen / R. Eilersten (Škoda Fabia Evo) +10:56.7

2022 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers’ Standings
After round 10

1 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 404
2 Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 341
3 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 214
4 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team NG 112

2022 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers’ Standings
After round 10

1 K. Rovanperä 207
2 O. Tänak 154
3 T. Neuville 131
4 E. Evans 116
5 T. Katsuta 100
6 C. Breen 77
7 E. Lappi 58
8 D. Sordo 49
9 G. Greensmith 36
10 S. Loeb 35
11 S. Ogier 34
12 P. Loubet 30
13 A. Mikkelsen 25
14 O. Solberg 21

All results remain subject to official FIA confirmation.


You might also be interested in

Become a Pro

Inside WRC

The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.


Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now