News


Ypres Rally endet für Chewon Lim mit unglücklichem Problem

Crew vor dem Zwischenfall stark unterwegs


Crew vor dem Zwischenfall stark unterwegs

Chewon Lim und Martijn Wydaeghe aus dem Hyundai Motorsport Driver Development Program zeigten am ersten Tag der Ypres Rally im New Generation i20 R5 eine starke Leistung, mussten aber am frühen Samstag die Rallye aufgrund eines außergewöhnlichen Problems vorzeitig beenden.

Das Wochenende ist eine der größten Veranstaltungen des Jahres und gleichzeitig die erste Rallye, bei der das Duo schon in der vergangenen Saison am Start stand. Aufgrund dieser zusätzlichen Erfahrung war die Crew bestens für das Wochenende vorbereitet. Weitere Zuversicht steuerten die positiven Erfahrungen bei der Rally van Wervik vor 14 Tagen bei, sowie der Vortest zur Rallye, zusammen mit Hyundai Motorsport WRC-Pilot Thierry Neuville.

Im Verlauf des ersten Tags der Rallye konnten sich Lim und Wydaeghe kontinuierlich im Gesamtklassement verbessern und auf den schnellen Prüfungen in Flandern Vertrauen in ihren New Generation i20 R5 gewinnen. Im starken Feld der R5-Mannschaften, das sich aus den Teams der belgischen und der britischen Rallye-Meisterschaft, sowie aus der Tour European Rallye (TER) Serie zusammensetzte, arbeitet sich das Duo Platz um Platz nach vorne und konnte seine Zeiten verbessern, während andere Mannschaften durch Fehler oder mechanische Probleme aus der Rallye ausschieden.

Starke Fahrt durch ungewöhnliches Problem gestoppt

Nach dem ersten Tag kehrte das Paar mit einer Platzierung innerhalb der Top-20 in den Service Park zurück und belegte in der Wertung der TER-Serie den starken vierten Platz, mit genügend Pace, sich am Samstagmorgen im Klassement weiter nach vorne zu arbeiten.

Eine Kombination aus verschiedenen Herausforderungen auf der Strecke verhinderte leider, dass die Crew ihr Vorhaben in die Tat umsetzen konnte.

Wie bei vielen anderen Teams ging nach einem harten Sprung auf der Kemmelberg Prüfung, mit der der zweite Tag begann, die Heckscheibe des Fahrzeugs zu Bruch. Die Beschädigung machte zunächst keine Probleme, verursachte jedoch beim zweiten Durchlauf der Schleife das plötzliche und vorzeitige Ende des Duos. Bei der Anfahrt auf eine Kurve in der Wertungsprüfung 11 verklemmten sich Teile der Scheibe in den Pedalen, hinderten Lim beim Bremsmanöver, worauf der Ausrutscher in den Straßengraben unvermeidlich war.

Chewon Lim: „Die Ypres Rally ist nicht nur eine der größten Veranstaltungen, bei denen ich am Start war, sondern auch eine der härtesten, sowohl in Bezug auf die Wertungsprüfungen als auch was die Stärke der Konkurrenten angeht. Ich war sehr zufrieden mit meiner Leistung am Eröffnungstag. Im Gesamtklassement konnte ich mich verbessern und zudem Vertrauen in den New Generation i20 R5 gewinnen. Am Samstagmorgen, als die Heckscheibe zerbrach, gab es viel Glas im Auto. Ein Teil davon geriet hinter das Gaspedal, das deshalb steckenblieb. Dadurch konnte ich das Auto vor der Kurve nicht mehr entsprechend verzögern. Das ist natürlich ärgerlich, denn ich denke, wir hätten uns im Klassement weiter verbessern können. Trotzdem schauen wir nach vorne und knüpfen an die positiven Dinge der Rallye an.“

Hyundai Motorsport Team Manager Alain Penasse: „Die Ypres Rally war ein gutes Wochenende für Chewon und Martijn. Sie war auch in diesem Jahr wie immer eine harte Rallye. Am Eröffnungstag haben sich die beiden gut dabei geschlagen, Fehler zu vermeiden und ihr Ziel verfolgt, auf den Etatppen wichtige Erfahrungen im New Generation i20 R5 zu sammeln. Mit der gleichen Pace hätten sie ihre Platzierung am zweiten Tag weiter verbessern können. Am Samstagmorgen erlitten auch andere Team ähnliche Schäden am gleichen Sprung, es wäre auch keine große Sache gewesen, das Problem beim nächsten Service zu beheben. Unglücklicherweise und ohne eigenes Verschulden mussten die beiden die Rallye leider beenden, bevor sie Gelegenheit hatten, den Service anzusteuern.“

SHARE:

Immer auf dem LaufendenSoziale Netzwerke →

Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter

Aktuelle WRC News

Aktuelles Video

Instagram Photos / Story

  • @max.hesse completes a perfect points scoring @adactcrgermany weekend at the @nuerburgring.
After finishing 2nd to guest driver @thierryneuville yesterday Hesse took victory in the dramatic, rain shortened Race 2 in his @hyundai_de backed i30 N TCR as Neuville finished 6th.
#Hyundai #HMSGOfficial #HyundaiMotorsport #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #motorsport #nurburgring #TCRGermany #i30 #i30N #TCR #i30NTCR #racing #racecar #winning #rain #maxhesse #thierryneuville #wrc #rallying #rally #car #carsofinstagram #result #news #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • The guest is the best!! 🏆
@thierryneuville takes a sensational win in @adactcrgermany 🇩🇪 Race 1 at the @nuerburgring on his circuit racing debut.
Max Hesse completes a fantastic i30 N TCR 🥇🥈 to boost his championship challenge.
#Hyundai #HMSGOfficial #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HyundaiMotorsport #thierryneuville #i30 #i30N #TCR #i30NTCR #TCRGermany #nurburgring #touringcar #winning #victory #motorsport #racecar #wrc #rally #rallying #racing #car #carsofinstagram #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • @thierryneuville stuns 🤩 the @adactcrgermany 🇩🇪 field to take pole position at the @nuerburgring in the @hyundai_de guest car. Fellow i30 N TCR driver and Thierry's teammate for the weekend Max Hesse will start alongside.
#Hyundai #HMSGOfficial #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HyundaiMotorsport #i30 #i30N #TCR #i30NTCR #TouringCar #TCRGermany #Nurburgring #qualifying #poleposition #motorsport #car #racecar #thierryneuville #maxhesse #winning #carsofinstagram #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • Jumping into the weekend like... 🚀 @rallyfinland #TGIF
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #GameOn #NesteRallyFinland #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #RallyFinland
  • For @thierryneuville the @nuerburgring @adactcrgermany 🇩🇪 weekend starts today. Some final tests to fine tune the i30 N TCR before the practice sessions tomorrow morning. @hyundai_de
#HMSGOfficial #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HyundaiMotorsport #i30 #i30N #i30NTCR #TCRGermany #thierryneuville #hyundaiteamengstler #nurburgring #racecar #motorsport #car #wrc #rallying #rally #instacar #instapic #instagood.
  • #TBT to the action of @rallyfinland! Onboard with @thierryneuville & @nicolasgilsoul - wait for the jump at the end 🙈🚀
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #GameOn #NesteRallyFinland #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #RallyFinland #OBC
  • @max.hesse added his name to the list of drivers to have won in the i30 N TCR last weekend. 🏆
He drove from 6th to take his first @adactcrgermany 🇩🇪 victory with Hyundai Team Engstler in Race 1 at @circuitzandvoort 🍾. Who will be the next i30 N TCR driver to take a first win?
#Hyundai #HMSGOfficial #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HyundaiMotorsport #i30 #i30N #TCR #i30NTCR #TouringCar #TCRGermany #ADACTCRGermany #Zandvoort #Netherlands #MaxHesse #hyundaiteamengstler #winning #action #victory #car #motorsport #racecar #caroftheday #carsofinstagram #carporn #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • Stage WIN ✅ 👀 Onboard with @amikkelsenrally & @andersjgraml as they fly through SS19 @rallyfinland ✈️👍
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #GameOn #NesteRallyFinland #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #RallyFinland #OBC
  • 🏎💨 ONBOARD SPECIAL! Same stage, different camera angles 🙌 Swipe 👉🏽 #weekendvibes @rallyfinland .
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #GameOn #NesteRallyFinland #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #RallyFinland #OBC

Dies könnte Sie auch interessieren


Experte werden

WRC intern

Die FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) ist der unbestrittene Höhepunkt des Sports, bei dem die besten Fahrer der Welt und ihre Beifahrer um Ruhm kämpfen.

Jetzt entdecken

Hinter den Kulissen

HMSG intern

Willkommen zu einem Blick hinter die Kulissen der Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Überblick zu unseren Hauptabteilungen.

Jetzt anschauen

Unsere Geschichte

Was wir tun

Am 19. Dezember 2012 gegründet, ist die Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) für Hyundais globale Motorsportaktivitäten verantwortlich.

Jetzt entdecken

Chewon Lim´s Ypres Rally ended by unfortunate issue

27 June 2017

The crew were running strongly before the incident

Hyundai Motorsport’s Driver Development Program crew of Chewon Lim and Martijn Wydaeghe performed strongly on the opening day of the Ypres Rally in their New Generation i20 R5, but had their competitive run end in unusual circumstances early on Saturday.

The weekend, as well as being one of the biggest rallies of the year of Lim and Wydaeghe was also the first time they had returned to an event where they competed last year. With this added experience of the stages, the pair were well prepared for the weekend. They could also draw on the confidence from both a positive run at the Rally van Wervik two weeks ago, and a pre-event test alongside Hyundai Motorsport World Rally Championship (WRC) driver Thierry Neuville.

Throughout the opening day Lim and Wydaeghe climbed the overall rankings, gaining in confidence in their New Generation i20 R5 on the, fast, open Flanders stages. In a very strong field of R5 crews that combined the entry lists of the Belgian and British national championships with the Tour European Rally (TER) Series the pair moved steadily up the order, their times improving as other crews fell out of the event due to mistakes or mechanical issues.

Strong progress ended by unusual problem

The pair returned to the service park at the end of the first day’s stages inside the top 20 overall, a strong fourth among the crews registered for the TER Series, with the pace to continue their progress up the standings when the action began on Saturday morning.

Unfortunately, a combination of the challenges on the stages would leave them unable to deliver on that promise.

As happened with many other competitors the rear window of his car shattered on a hard landing from a jump on the Kemmelberg stage that began the second day of the rally. However, while initially the damage did not cause any problems, later in the same loop the damage helped bring their Ypres weekend to a sudden end. As Lim approached a corner on SS11 some pieces of the glass became stuck in the pedals, preventing him from slowing down and unable to avoid a damaging trip into a roadside ditch.

Chewon Lim said: “The Ypres Rally is one of the biggest events where I have competed, but it was also one of the toughest, both in terms of the stages and the strength of the competitors. I was quite happy with my performance on the opening day, to move up the order and gain some more confidence in the New Generation i20 R5. On Saturday morning there was lots of glass in the car from when the back window broke and a piece got under the throttle pedal and stopped it returning to neutral, so we couldn’t slow down for the corner. Obviously it’s frustrating, as I think we could have continued moving up the order, but we will take the positives and move on.”

Hyundai Motorsport Team Manager Alain Penasse said: “The Ypres Rally was a good weekend for Chewon and Martijn. It is always a very tough rally, and this year was no exception. They performed very well on the opening day to avoid mistakes and move up the order, while gaining important experience in the New Generation i20 R5 on the stages. With the same pace they should have been able continue their progress on the second day. Several crews suffered similar damage over the same jump on Saturday morning, and it would have been an easy issue to solve in service. Unfortunately, however, by no fault of their own they were forced to retire before the team had the opportunity.”