Jari Huttunen rejoint le HMDP pour 2018

27 septembre 2017

Un pilote finlandais va concourir au volant d’une NG i20 R5

Le pilote finlandais Jari Huttunen va rejoindre le Hyundai Motorsport Driver development Program (HMDP) et concourir au volant d’une New Generation i20 R5 en 2018. La décision marque la conclusion d’un processus de sélection rigoureux, durant lequel les candidats ont dû démontrer non seulement leur maîtrise de la vitesse, mais également leurs capacités à communiquer et leurs connaissances techniques.

Si les membres du jury ont été impressionnés par les huit pilotes ayant testé la New Generation i20 R5 au début du mois, ils ont finalement décidé à l’unanimité que Jari Huttunen se démarquait du groupe.

Ce pilote de 23 ans a concouru en Allemagne, où il a été vainqueur de sa classe dans six de sept événements en 2016. En 2017, il est passé au Championnat d’Europe des Rallyes (ERC), en pilotant une voiture classée R2. En parallèle à ses exploits en ERC, il a franchi un grand pas en entrant pour la première fois dans la compétition R5, prenant part à deux événements cette saison.

Dès son second départ seulement dans le 4×4, il a remporté une victoire au championnat WRC2 à domicile, en gagnant une majorité des étapes du rallye, devançant des pilotes beaucoup plus expérimentés. C’est cette performance qui dans un premier temps a attiré l’attention de Hyundai Motorsport et a mené à l’invitation à participer au processus de sélection du HMDP.

Lors des tests HMDP en France, il a très vite impressionné les membres de la direction de Hyundai Motorsport qui étaient présents, surmontant son manque d’expérience au volant d’une voiture R5, en comparaison de la plupart des autres concurrents en lice. Même face aux conditions glissantes auxquelles les pilotes étaient confrontés durant les tests, il a réussi à adopter immédiatement une vitesse soutenue, pendant les étapes sur asphalte comme sur graviers, malgré le désavantage perçu par rapport à ses rivaux.

Les journées de tests avaient été conçues pour représenter au mieux les événements de Championnat du monde des rallyes. Chaque pilote n’avait droit qu’à deux passages de reconnaissance à chaque étape avant de concourir dans la New Generation i20 R5. Le temps passé dans la voiture leur a permis de s’adapter à son comportement dans les conditions routières changeantes, avant de commencer à parler réglages avec les techniciens de Hyundai Motorsport.

Outre son aptitude au volant de la voiture, sa volonté de réussir est apparue clairement, non seulement pendant les journées de tests, mais également lors des entretiens qui formaient la première partie de la sélection pour l’opportunité de participer au programme HMDP.

L’année prochaine, Jari Huttunen va concourir dans des manches sélectionnées du WRC2 dans une New Generation i20 R5 inscrite par Hyundai Motorsport. Il suivra également un programme d’essais tout au long de la saison afin de se préparer pleinement à chaque rencontre, et de continuer à faire progresser sa carrière de pilote de rallye professionnel.

Jari a déclaré : « C’est bien sûr un immense honneur d’être le candidat retenu pour le Programme de développement de pilotes Hyundai Motorsport. Beaucoup de pilotes de talent avec plus d’expérience que moi ont participé, et d’avoir été sélectionné est donc une bonne surprise. Cette opportunité de bénéficier du soutien d’une équipe aussi performante va me permettre de me concentrer entièrement sur ma technique de pilotage et ma formation et de continuer à améliorer ma performance au volant. Je n’ai passé que peu de temps dans la New Generation i20 R5 lors des tests, mais je me suis senti tout de suite à l’aise et j’ai pu y aller à fond, même dans des conditions difficiles. Maintenant je peux me consacrer à la préparation des prochains mois. Je suis impatient de voir ce que l’année à venir me réserve. »   

Alain Penasse, Team Manager de Hyundai Motorsport a déclaré : « Nous avons été très impressionnés par le niveau de tous les candidats lors des tests. Chacun d’eux a fait preuve d’une attitude très professionnelle, et a fait bonne impression sur tous les juges. Jari s’est distingué par sa volonté. N’ayant à son actif que quelques départs dans une voiture R5, il avait moins d’expérience que de nombreux autres candidats, mais il s’est montré tout de suite compétitif et constant dans la New Generation i20 R5 à la fois pendant les étapes sur asphalte et sur graviers. Il est clair qu’il a énormément de talent et un immense potentiel comme pilote de rallye. Nous sommes convaincus qu’avec le soutien du Programme de développement de pilotes Hyundai Motorsport, il pourra poursuivre ses rapides progrès dans le sport automobile au cours de la saison prochaine. »

News


Jari Huttunen joins HMDP for 2018

Finn will compete at the wheel of a NG i20 R5


Finn will compete at the wheel of a NG i20 R5

Finnish driver Jari Huttunen will join the Hyundai Motorsport Driver development Program (HMDP) and compete at the wheel of a New Generation i20 R5 in 2018. The decision comes at the conclusion of a careful selection process, during which candidates had to prove not only their pace in the car, but also their communication skills and technical knowledge.

Though all eight of the drivers who tested the New Generation i20 R5 earlier this month impressed the watching members of the jury, it was ultimately a unanimous decision that Huttunen stood out from the group.

The 23-year-old has previously competed in Germany, where he won his class in six out of the seven events in 2016. In 2017 he moved into the European Rally Championship (ERC), campaigning an R2-specification car. Alongside his ERC exploits he also stepped up to R5 competition for the first time, entering two events this season.

In just his second start in the four-wheel-drive car he took victory in WRC2 at his home event, winning a majority of the rally’s stages ahead of a field of far more experienced drivers. It was this performance that initially caught the attention of Hyundai Motorsport and led to him being invited to take part in the HMDP selection process.

At the HMDP test in France he quickly impressed the watching members of Hyundai Motorsport’s management, overcoming his lack of experience at the wheel of an R5 car compared to many of the drivers he was competing against.  Even in the slippery conditions that greeted the drivers during the test he was able to immediately show consistently strong pace on both the tarmac and gravel stages, despite the perceived disadvantage to his rivals.

The test days were designed to closely mimic the situation on World Rally Championship events. Each driver was given only two recce passes on each stage before running in the New Generation i20 R5. Their time in the car allowed them to adapt to the handling in the changing conditions on the road before beginning to discuss set-up changes with the Hyundai Motorsport engineers.

As well as his ability in the car his determination to succeed also shone though, not only during the test days, but also during the interviews that formed the first part of the selection for the HMDP opportunity.

Huttunen, will compete in selected WRC2 rounds next year in a Hyundai Motorsport entered New Generation i20 R5. He will also complete a program of tests throughout the season, in order to prepare fully for each event, and continue to progress his professional rallying career.

Jari Huttunen said: “It’s obviously a huge honour to be selected as the winning candidate for the Hyundai Motorsport Driver development Program. There were a lot of very talented drivers involved, with more experience than me, so to be chosen is a nice surprise. To be able to draw on the support from such a successful team will allow me to focus fully on my driving and training and continue to improve my performance behind the wheel. Though I only had a short time in the New Generation i20 R5 at the test I quickly felt comfortable and was able to push, even in the difficult conditions. Now I can concentrate on preparing over the coming months. I’m really excited for the year ahead.”   

Hyundai Motorsport Team Manager Alain Penasse said: “We were very impressed by the level of all the candidates at the test. They each had a very professional approach, and left a good impression with myself and the other judges. What stood out about Jari was his determination. With only a few starts in an R5 car he had less experience than many of the other candidates, but was immediately competitive and consistent in the New Generation i20 R5 on both the tarmac and gravel stages. He is a clearly a very talented driver, and has enormous potential as a rally driver. With the support of the Hyundai Motorsport Driver development Program we are confident he can continue his rapid progress in the sport next season.”

SHARE:

Stay tunedSocial Stream →

Follow Us on Twitter

Recent WRC News

Latest Video

Instagram Photos / Story

  • #ThrowbackThursday to @rallyitaliasardegna - in slow motion! 🤩
.
.
.
.
.
.
. #hmsgofficial #wrc #Hyundai #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #rallyitaliasardegna #WRCLive #instacool #win #podium
  • @mason_filippi and @copelandmotorsports added to the Veloster N TCR's growing list of successes🏆 in @sroamerica #TCAmerica 🇺🇸 last weekend at @portlandraceway.
The team and driver scored their second win together in Race 1, having already set the best lap in qualifying. 🏁
#HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HMSGOfficial #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsport #Veloster #TCR #VelosterN #VelosterNTCR #portland #pir #portlandinternationalraceway #rosecupraces #rosecup #race1 #winning #action #car #motorsport #race #racing #carsofinstagram #caroftheday #instacar #instagood #instapic
  • @bobdejongrallying was the dominant force at the @gtcrally in the Netherlands 🇳🇱. He won overall 🍾 by nearly three minutes in his i20 R5!
#HMSGOfficial #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #HyundaiMotorsport #R5 #i20 #i20R5 #winning #rally #rallying #motorsport #action #car #carsofinstagram #caroftheday #GTCRally #netherlands #holland #bobdejong #bobdejongrallying #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • #MondayMotivation @danisordorallye & @carlosdelbarrio37 flying over the Sardinian roads 🚀🥇🔝 @rallyitaliasardegna .
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #win #podium #rallyitaliasardegna
  • @luca_engstler wins his first @tcreurope race! 🍾🏆 The @m1ramotorsport man, and Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing Junior Driver is victorious in Race 2 at the @redbullring 🇦🇹 and @joshfiles99 extends his championship lead by fighting from 9th on the grid up to 2nd! 🏁
#HMSGOfficial #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsport #TCR #i30N #i30NTCR #motorsport #motorsportlife #racing #action #crash #tcreurope #LucaEngstler #JoshFiles #Race2 #carsofinstagram #carporn #caroftheday #winning #instacar #instapic #instagood
  • What's better than a victory for i30 N TCR customers?
A🥇🥈for i30 N TCR customers.
@joshfiles99 and @lucafilippilf come home 1st and 2nd in @tcreurope Race 1 at the @redbullring, with 5 Hyundai in the top six!
#HMSGOfficial #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsport #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #TCREurope #TCR #i30NTCR #i30N #Redbullring #joshfiles #targetcompetition #lucafilippi #race1 #motorsport #action #fast #carporn #podium #winning #caroftheday #carsofinstagram #instacar #car #instagood #instapic
  • Onboard with @danisordorallye and @carlosdelbarrio37 who are looking 🔥🔥 in the stage @rallyportugal .
.
.
.
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #WRC #Hyundai #i20CoupeWRC #i20 #instagood #rallying #WRCLive #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #rally #carsofinstagram #instacool #win #podium #RallydePortugal #RallyPortugal
  • #FlashbackFriday to the #24hNBR for some night-time onboard action 🏎💨
.
.
.
#HMSGOfficial #HyundaiN #nring #nürburgring #nuerburgring #nordschleife #N24 #Nurburgring24 #Nurburgring24Hours #N24H #NurburgringNordschleife #GameOn #Hyundai #i30N #instagood #endurance #motorsport #instavideo #instadaily #instalikes #cars #carsofinstagram
  • Are you ready for this weekend's @tcreurope action from the @redbullring? 🇦🇹 10 Hyundai i30 N #TCR will be on track, including 4 Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing Junior Drivers. 🏁
@luca_engstler
@daninagyofficial
@andreasbckman
@jessbackman
#HMSGOfficial #Hyundai #HyundaiMotorsport #HyundaiMotorsportCustomerRacing #i30NTCR #i30N #motorsport #racing #action #TCREurope #RedBullRing #lucaengstler #daninagy #andreasbackman #jessicanbackman #carsofinstagram #caroftheday #carporn #instacar #instapic #instagood

You might also be interested in


Become a Pro

Inside WRC

The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.

Explore

Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now