World Rally Championship

Manufacturers’ champions in Monza

Double podium secures our second consecutive WRC title

Double podium secures our second consecutive WRC title

We have successfully defended our WRC manufacturers’ championship title with a double podium result in Rally Monza, the final round of the 2020 season. Ott and Martin finished a challenging weekend in second place with Dani and Carlos in third.

In one of the most demanding and eventful rallies of the season, with wet and often wintry conditions dominating the stages, we secured our second title with a five-point margin.

A rollercoaster rally saw the overall classification change stage by stage, making for a dramatic and exciting end to a season which has been heavily disrupted by external influences.

Snow business

The rally had seen plenty of nerve-wracking moments in the build-up to the final morning with rain and snow creating treacherous conditions for the crews. We emerged on Sunday morning with two of our crews fighting for the podium.

Our Estonians moved up to second place on the opening stage, swapping places with Dani and Carlos. Although neither crew was pushing for positions, as we aimed to protect our manufacturers’ points, they continued to exchange places until the Power Stage.

“Our first priority today was to ensure we finished the rally with Dani to make sure we cemented the manufacturers’ title,” said Ott, who scored his fourth podium of the season with second place. “It has been a really difficult rally from the start; we have had to endure some complicated conditions, but we achieved our target for the team.”

“For me, it wasn’t important whether it was second or third; we just needed to get the combined result for the team, which we have done,” said Dani. “This has been a hard-fought result.”

Thierry and Nicolas Gilsoul were forced to retire from the rally in exceptionally tricky conditions on the opening day, but they shared in the celebrations.

“This is a phenomenal result for everyone at Hyundai Motorsport and I am happy to be part of this winning team,’ said Thierry. “My thanks go to every team member for their hard work and dedication. It’s time to celebrate!”

Positive reflections

We concluded our second title-winning year with three victories, 11 individual podiums, two 1-2 results and all five of our crews taking top-three results in the i20 Coupe WRC.

“We are honoured to complete the year on top of the manufacturers’ table and to take our second consecutive WRC title,” commented our President, Scott Noh. “This result is another important landmark moment for Hyundai Motor Company, and especially poignant considering what we’ve all faced this year. We have put our full energy into this season, and I thank every single member of Hyundai Motorsport and the global Hyundai community for their support. We look forward to brighter days and more success in 2021.”

Our Team Principal Andrea reflected: “To come to Monza and to take our second title is just wonderful and a moment to cherish. This is a result that we will share with the entire organisation and their families, as well as all our crews. Every single member of the team has pushed incredibly hard to get the most out of the situation and to improve our performance.

He added: “We started strongly in Monte-Carlo – a truly special moment for all of us – and since we returned after the summer, we have been very competitive. We knew we had to get the most out of limited events, and we returned to the top of the championship based on merit, performance, perseverance and hard work. I am proud to lead such an incredible team and to fly the Hyundai flag in motorsport. My thanks go to the FIA and the WRC Promoter for their efforts this year in difficult circumstances.”

*subject to the official publication of the results by the FIA

Final Overall Classification – Rally Monza

1 S. Ogier / J. Ingrassia (Toyota Yaris WRC) 2:15:51.0
2 O. Tänak / M. Järveoja (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +13.9
3 D. Sordo / C. del Barrio (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +15.3

4 E. Lappi / J. Ferm (Ford Fiesta WRC) +45.7
5 K. Rovanperä / J. Halttunen (Toyota Yaris WRC) +1:11.1
6 A. Mikkelsen / A. Jaeger (Škoda Fabia R5) +3:56.2
7 O. Solberg / A. Johnston (Škoda Fabia R5) +4:12.1
8 J. Huttunen / M. Lukka (Hyundai i20 R5) +5:15.4
9 M. Østberg / T. Eriksen (Citroën C3 R5) +5:27.4
10 P. Tidemand / P. Barth (Škoda Fabia R5) +5:53.0

2020 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers’ Standings
After round 7
1 Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 241
2 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 236
3 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 129
4 Hyundai 2C Competition 8

2020 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers’ Standings
After round 7
1 S. Ogier 122
2 E. Evans 114
3 O. Tänak 105
4 T. Neuville 87
5 K. Rovanperä 80
6 E. Lappi 52
7 T. Suninen 44
8 D. Sordo 42
9 C. Breen 25
10 S.Loeb 24

All results remain subject to official FIA confirmation.


You might also be interested in

Become a Pro

Inside WRC

The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.


Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now