World Rally Championship

Victory and double podium in Sardinia

Ott/Martin take first win of 2022 with Dani/Cándido in third

Ott/Martin take first win of 2022 with Dani/Cándido in third

We are celebrating our first victory of the new WRC hybrid era after a competitive weekend for our team in Rally Italia Sardegna.

We have taken a dominant victory and double podium finish in Rally Italia Sardegna, with Ott and Martin securing our first win with the i20 N Rally1 car. The result is a demonstration of the resilience and never-give-up attitude of our team, as well as revitalising our championship ambitions.

Our Estonian crew put in a masterful performance, taking nine stage wins to claim the top spot by a margin of almost one minute.

“I am very happy to take this victory, especially for all the mechanics and people in the team who have put in an incredible effort to prepare for this new generation,” said Ott. “There’s no doubt that when we have the confidence, we can do a good job. We need to keep working in this direction.”

Podium jubilations

In only their second rally of the season, Dani and Cándido picked up another third-place finish and confirm our third double podium in Sardinia in the last four seasons. It is the fourth podium in a row for our Spanish duo when counting their third places in Spain and Monza late last season.

“This is a very motivating result for the whole team,” said Dani. “I am here with the target of competing for points, and to support our team’s fightback in the championship. Ott’s win and my third place has helped us to close the gap, which was the objective this weekend.”

Thierry and Martijn were hampered by a transmission issue on Friday, which dropped them down the standings. They went out fighting on the final day with a big push to take maximum Power Stage points.

“The victory is an important reward for the team after all the effort they have put in,” said Thierry. “On our side, unfortunately it’s another rally where we’re left thinking what might have been. We gave it everything, and we could at least take maximum points from the Power Stage.”

Making a splash

The performance of our i20 N Rally1 car was demonstrated by all three crews with a total of 14 stage wins. Only four of the contested stages were not won by one of our crews this weekend continuing our fine form in an event that has delivered so much success over the years.

The result marks our fifth victory in Sardinia in the past seven years and culminated in the traditional dive into the Alghero harbour!

Our Deputy Team Director Julien said: “What a fantastic result. It’s been a difficult start to this new era, but we have never given up. This is a wonderful reward for the efforts of everyone involved. We will enjoy this moment and the celebrations. This is the motivational push that the whole team has been waiting for and working so hard to achieve.”

The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) moves onto the rough and rugged terrain of Safari Rally Kenya from 23-26 June.

Final Overall Classification – Rally Italia Sardegna

1 O. Tänak / M. Järveoja (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) 3:10:59.1
2 C. Breen / P. Nagle (Ford Puma Rally1) +1:03.2
3 D. Sordo / C. Carrera (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) +1:33.0
4 P. L. Loubet / V. Landais (Ford Puma Rally1) +2:09.4
5 K. Rovanperä / J. Halttunen (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) +3:02.8
6 T. Katsuta / A. Johnston (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) +4:02.6
7 G. Greensmith / J. Andersson (Ford Puma Rally1) +5:23.6
8 N. Gryazin / K. Aleksandrov (Škoda Fabia Evo) +7:37.7
9 J. Solans / R. Sanjuan (Citroën C3 Rally2) +8:05.7
10 J. Huttunen / M. Lukka (Ford Fiesta MkII) +8:10.8

2022 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers’ Standings
After round 5

1 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 200
2 Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 161
3 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 120
4 Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team NG 53

2022 FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers’ Standings
After round 5

1 K. Rovanperä 120
2 T. Neuville 65
3 O. Tänak 62
4 C. Breen 52
5 T. Katsuta 47
6 E. Evans 39
7 D. Sordo 34
8 S. Loeb 27
9 G. Greensmith 26
10 S. Ogier 19
11 P. Loubet 18
12 E. Lappi 17
13 A. Mikkelsen 12
14 O. Solberg 8

All results remain subject to official FIA confirmation


Recent WRC News

Latest Video

You might also be interested in

Become a Pro

Inside WRC

The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.


Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now