World Touring Car Cup

Podium in WTCR Portugal

Our customer maintains first in both title standings

Our customer maintains first in both title standings

There were plenty of celebrations for our Elantra N TCR customer in Vila Real, scene of the fifth round of the 2022 WTCR season.

Third place for Mikel in Race 2 ensured he remained at the top of the drivers’ standings, while BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse has a seven point advantage heading into its home event later this month.

On a trophy streak
Mikel secured a second row start on the reverse-grid Race 2 and made a good start to maintain position. After his Joker Lap – where competitors must take a different, longer loop once per race – he fell to fourth, but regained the position two laps later to secure his fifth podium of the year. He finished Race 1 in eighth place.

“It’s been another positive weekend for us,” said an elated Mikel. “Now we have to keep pushing like this. I’d like to say a huge thanks to my team and Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing for giving me the perfect car.”

Strongest round of the season
After making it through to the final phase of Qualifying to compete for pole position, team-mate Norbert secured his best finish of the season in Race 1. He gained a place as a result of his Joker Lap strategy and brought home a fine fourth. The Hungarian repeated this feat in Race 2, climbing from sixth to fifth.

“Race of Portugal was probably my strongest event of the season so far,” said Norbert after the final race. “I know where I can improve further and the important thing now is to build on this momentum and continue this form in the second half of the season.”

The next race of the 2022 WTCR season, Race of Italy, takes place on July 23-24.

2022 FIA World Touring Car Cup for Teams
After Round 5

1. BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse 218
2. Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 211
3. Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 211
4. ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport 180
5. Zengö Motorsport 155
8. Liqui Moly Team Engstler 54

2022 FIA World Touring Car Cup for Drivers
After Round 5

1. Mikel Azcona 153
2. Santiago Urrutia 137
3. Yann Ehrlacher 133
4. Robert Huff 130
5. Nestor Girolami 113
6. Gilles Magnus 98
7. Qinghua Ma 97
8. Nathanael Berthon 87
9. Yvan Muller 78
10. Esteban Guerrieri 67
11. Norbert Michelisz 65


Recent WTCR News

Latest Video

You might also be interested in

TCR Sales


The FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) is the undisputed pinnacle of the sport, where the world’s best drivers and their co-drivers vie for glory.


Behind the scenes

Inside the factory

Welcome to a behind-the-scenes tour of Hyundai Motorsport GmbH. Here you will find a short overview of our main departments.

Have a look

Our History

What we do

Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH (HMSG) is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities.

Discover now